And did those feet in an antique land

I attended a small poetry reading this evening. Some enterprising characters performed a mashup of One Fish by Dr. Seuss, and the General Prologue of the Canterbury Tales. This gave me an idea for a mashup between Shelley’s Ozymandias, and Blake’s Jerusalem. Here it is:

I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said:
And did those feet in ancient time.
Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Walk upon Englands mountains green:
Stand in the desert. Near them on the sand,
And was the holy Lamb of God,
Half sunk,
On Englands pleasant pastures
a shattered visage lies,
whose frown
And did the Countenance Divine,
And wrinkled lip and sneer of cold command
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive,
And was Jerusalem builded here,
stamped on these lifeless things,
Among these dark Satanic Mills?
The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
And on the pedestal these words appear:
Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
Bring me my Arrows of desire:
“My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings:
Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
Bring me my Chariot of fire!
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!”
I will not cease from Mental Fight,
Nothing beside remains.
Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck,
Till we have built Jerusalem,
boundless and bare,
In Englands green & pleasant Land
The lone and level sands stretch far away.

About flamsmark

I do privacy at Mozilla. Years of security have left me incurably paranoid. Tech, policy, security, privacy, & anonymity are good. Open is better. GPG: 80AF07D3
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What're your thoughts?

