Bouldering Competition

The climbing team had our first competition today – a red point bouldering comp at the Delaware Rock Gym. We don’t have sponsorhip; the University doesn’t fund us. We’re just a group of passionate climbers who split gas money and entry fees so that we can do what we love.

It’s a 90 minute drive down there; we left early, and we still arrived ten minutes late. With ten fabulous competitors, and only two cars, it was a pretty cozy drive. Google’s directions even sent use into a half-finished housing estate, along roads that didn’t even exist yet. Eventually, the shenanigans were complete, we were registered, and it was time to climb.

I frontloaded a little much to get at some of the (pretty hefty) flash points. I did a lot of work in the first hour, scoring my top five climbs there. I petered out after that, not sending anything substantial for the rest of the time. That didn’t stop me from trying everything even vaguely in my range. It’s pretty fulfilling to go to a competition where someone else grades the routes: until today, I’d never climbed on the Vx system before. Now I know that I can climb something V4ish when I’m fresh.

We met some great people; everyone was really friendly, and there were a bunch of folks spectating and giving moral support. The organisers were incredibly relaxed, and we got to do our thing all afternoon. I think that we were the only full (three male and three female) team at the comp, which was uplifting as soon as we got there.

At the end of the day, I’m tired, I’m hungry, all my muscles ache, my hands are beat up, and I’m bleeding from half a dozen places. My idea of a holiday? Doing this once in the morning, doing this once in the evening, sleeping in a tent, then doing it all over again the next day. Seven times.

About flamsmark

I do privacy at Mozilla. Years of security have left me incurably paranoid. Tech, policy, security, privacy, & anonymity are good. Open is better. GPG: 80AF07D3
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bouldering Competition

  1. Aimee says:

    Thanks for coming out! So glad you had a great time!

What're your thoughts?

